Bubbly Vegan Chocolate Orange Mousse Recipe

Good grief this is something I never thought I’d have: Vegan Chocolate Orange Mousse – for actual reals!

IMG_2235

IMG_2236

As a kid I’d look longingly at gelatine-laden chocolate mousse just wishing that I could have a nice vegetarian version! The light bubbly-textured chocolate looked so good aside from the obviously horrendous, stomach churning bone-derived ingredients! As I became vegan and cut out eggs entirely, the idea of an authentic mousse was rendered entirely unachievable (I thought!).

I, along with every other vegan and egg-avoider on the planet, have become intrigued by the recent aquafaba (bean cooking water) hype and have engaged in plenty of successful and unsuccessful venture into vegan meringue! When I eventually but two and two together I realised (and I’m aware I’m not the first) that the airy whipped aquafaba could easily be used to create a mousse!

As a massive fan of orange flavoured chocolate, it was only natural for me to add orange oil to the melted chocolate but you could easily omit this for pure chocolatey goodness!

This was even better a day later from the fridge, when it firmed up even more. I’m not gonna lie, I nearly cried at my genius on this one hehe  ^_^

IMG_2226

Ingredients:

  • drained liquid from 1x 400g tin of chickpeas (aquafaba)
  • 100g bar plain vegan chocolate (I used Kinnerton)
  • 1 tbsp. icing sugar
  • few drops orange oil (optional, but nice)

Method:

  1. Melt the chocolate in a small bowl over boiling water, stirring occasionally. At this point, add the orange oil to the chocolate.
  2. Whilst the chocolate melts, decant the aquafaba into a stand mixer and use the whisk attachment to whip it until stiff peaks are achieved. If you’re unsure of whether you have achieved stiff peaks, a good test is the bowl-upside-down-over-your-head test 🙂 or, if a huge clump of it will stay on the whisk when you remove it, you’re there! It normally takes about 10 mins for me.
  3. Add the sugar and continue to whisk until fully incorporated.
  4. Ensuring your chocolate is cool-ish but still liquid, gradually drizzle it into the whipped aquafaba, slowly folding it in without squashing the air out.
  5. When the chocolate is fully mixed in, pour into small pots or glasses and put in the fridge to set.

IMG_2227

IMG_2237

Wait as long as you can bear to enjoy this – it really is better after a few hours if you can bear to wait!

Let me know how you get on or if you have made another variation of this – I’d love to try a white chocolate version next!

Franca x

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Laura says:

    Oh wow, I definitely have to try this!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Laura says:

        I did it (but without the orange) and it was super easy and soooooooooo delicious! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Raksha says:

    Is the chocolate sweetened or unsweetened? and can you use a non-vegan chocolate? if so, which chocolate is a good substitute?

    Like

    1. Hi rashka, I would recommend using a good quality dark chocolate. I used a sweetened one! Sugar fix!

      Like

Leave a Reply

