Proper Vegan Parmesan – Violife Strikes Again! Review and Vegan Caesar Salad Recipe!

Wow.

IMG_2010

I received a ‘perk’ recently which has never happened before. The lovely people at Violife recently sent me a sample of their new ‘Prosociano’, a ‘real’ hard, grate-able vegan Parmesan alternative. I know, eye-rolls, but this is not a sponsored post in any way. It is not an advert – all opinions are my own and I’m so bloody excited about it!

As a life-long vegetarian and seven-year vegan, I have admittedly never tried real Italian parmesan. I have, however, experienced vegetarian hard-cheese alternatives and vegan ‘Parmesan’ in the form of very weird feet-flavoured powder. I had given up hope of a proper garnish for spaghetti and risotto. That is until THIS happened.

IMG_2023

The packaging is really nice and makes it feel like a more up-market product than many of the vegan cheeses currently on the market. Having struggled to get into the vacuum sealed pack (bloody fiddly!), I was initially unimpressed my the glossy, rubbery look of the cheese, quite akin to Cheesly, which I am not fond of. However, that is where the comparison ends.

This cheese grates perfectly and the smell and taste, whilst strong, is really, really good. Sharp and salty, it is an absolutely perfect seasoning for pasta, risotto and salads thus bringing me onto my final thought: Vegan Caesar Salad. Yeah.

This was banging.

IMG_2030

Ingredients:

  • 1 x Romano lettuce
  • 2 slices thick white bread
  • 1/6 block tofu (I used Cauldron)
  • 1 tbsp Dijon mustard
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp white wine vinegar
  • 1 clove garlic (crushed)
  • pinch sea salt
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • splash non-dairy milk
  • 3 tbsp grated Violife Prosociano (Vegan Parmesan)

Method:

  1. Wash and slice the lettuce.
  2. Prepare the dressing: Put the tofu, mustard, lemon juice, vinegar, garlic, salt, olive oil and milk into a blender and blitz until combined.
  3. Cut bread into small cubes (croutons) and fry in olive oil until crispy.
  4. Toss the lettuce and croutons in a large salad bowl. Pour on dressing and sprinkle with cheese.

This was so good. Salty in a good way and not overpowering at all.

Next stop: proper risotto 🙂

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Katherine says:

    Waaah, I’m SO jealous!!! I’ve been wanting to try Violife for years, but it’s not sold in the US yet. I can’t wait until my next European vacation!

    Like

    1. Katherine it’s sooo good! Fingers crossed for you that they expand soon and offer in the US – it’s really the best vegan cheese I’ve tasted!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

