Vegan Raspberry Jaffa Cakes

IMG_1905

Ooooooooooooh!

As a kid I discovered raspberry ‘jaffa’-cakes whilst on holiday in Spain. I’m not gonna lie, they were a life-changer! Now I pounce on every imported ‘jaffa’ cake style biscuit I spot in supermarkets, wishing that just once I might find an egg-free variety with no luck.

Well, yesterday enough was enough. I had to make my own. And it worked – so well! The only thing I would change about these bad boys (for authenticity rather than taste) is that I would have used raspberry jelly rather than jam as it was not as firm as you would find in a normal Jaffa-cake but taste wise, they were (and yes, I am using the past tense) the BOMB.

IMG_1879

No, they don’t look pretty as my chocolate spreading skills most definitely need work but trust me, if you make these, you won’t care what they look like!

IMG_1874

Ingredients:

Method:

  1. Lightly grease a Yorkshire pudding tray (like a large fairy-cake tray) with sunflower oil.
  2. Pour in batter to half fill each mould and bake at 150ºC for around 8-10mins or until golden and firm in the middle.
  3. When cool, spread the raspberry jam in the centre of each cake. Refrigerate for 30 mins to set the jam.
  4. Melt chocolate and spread carefully as not to displace the jam.
  5. Cool until chocolate is set and then hide them!
4 Comments Add yours

  1. claire says:

    these look fab will be trying them

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Let me know how they turn out! Would love to see if you figure out a way of getting the chocolate on neatly! ^_^

      Like

  2. These look so delicious! I can’t wait to try this!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

