Best Vegan Cheese Post #1 – Violife

Hi!

IMG_1286

As a member of some different vegan groups on Facebook and elsewhere, a question I commonly stumble upon is: ‘What is the best vegan cheese available in the UK?’. When I turned vegan 7 years ago, I, perhaps not uniquely, thought that cheese would be the hardest thing to give up. I searched for a long time to find ‘cheeze’ that wasn’t plasticky, didn’t just taste weird, wasn’t gritty or rubbery or made with really strange ingredients and I have tried a lot! Thus far I have found two brands that I really like: Vegusto and Violife. In this post I willย talk about Violife.

IMG_1294

Violife (also known as Viotros) are a company based in Greece who provide vegan (and some non-vegan) cheeses in 30 countries in a LOT of different variations: blocks of cheese, cheese slices and cream cheese. Their products are mostly based on coconut oil and starch with vegan flavourings. They do not use palm oil in any of their products which is a plus point for me. I have only encountered one of their products that I didn’t particularly like which is the Creamy with Herbs but that is surely down to personal taste as the Original Creamy is actually to die for! Below are three of my Violife favourites:

1. Cheddar Flavour Violife Slices – I really like these. They put me in mind of the cheese food slices that you can buy for burgers but they have a really nice flavour and no really weird ingredients. They melt surprisingly well and the slices are very convenient: good for burgers and AMAZING in ‘cheese’ toasties done in the Breville if you’re into that! The only negative I would mention is that once melted they can ‘stick’ to your mouth a little but I’m ok with that. They are also available in 9 other flavours many of which I have yet to (excitedly) try!

IMG_1287

2. Violife Creamy Original – Oh. My. Goodness. This is sooo good! Think a firmish Philadelphia with no dairy! Yay! This was an absolute godsend over Christmas and goes so nicely with Ritz crackers and chutney! Just me? Ok! Really lovely creamy flavour with no aftertaste. I am excited to try it in a vegan cheesecake as it’s very mild and I think it would work perfectly.

3. ย Violife for Pizza – (No pic sorry!) As a huge fan of homemade pizza and having tried lots of different vegan cheeses on them in the past this is definitely the best I’ve come across. It has a pale colour, melts extremely well and even ‘stretches’ like real mozzarella! Alex had a hard time believing that I hadn’t served him actual cheese! ๐Ÿ™‚

It’s pleasing to see that the big supermarkets have started stocking this brand and I’m looking forward to trying some more variations in the future. Go Violife!

Franca x

6 Comments Add yours

  1. I tried these last week and I love them!!! Delicious ๐Ÿ™‚ Cheddar Flavour Violife Slices โ€“ Fantastic stuff ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

    1. Aren’t they so good! I couldn’t resist picking from the fridge :O

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Serene Eats says:

    Violife are my favourite too! Delicious ๐Ÿ™‚ x

    Like

    1. I was really pleasantly surprised! Cheese food slices were never my thing pre-vegan but these are so good! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Serene Eats says:

        Same here ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

  3. Stefania says:

    Hi there! May i have your email please? I am contacting you from Viotros, we are the producers of Violife dairy free cheese. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

